City of Round Rock, Texas Capital Improvements Advisory Committee August 15, 2018, Meeting

Draft Meeting Minutes

A. CALL TO ORDER

The August 15, 2018, meeting of the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee (CIAC) was held in Round Rock City Council Chambers located at 221 East Main Street. With a quorum present, Committee Chairman David Pavliska called the meeting to order at 8:44 p.m.

B. ROLL CALL

Members in attendance included Chairman David Pavliska, Vice Chair Rob Wendt, Committee Members Stacie Bryan, Casey Clawson, Jennifer Henderson, Selicia Sanchez, Jennifer Sellers, and David Sour. Committee Members Greg Rabaey and Edward Henna were absent.

Transportation Department staff included Gary Hudder, Brian Kuhn, Gerald Pohlmeyer, and Leah Collier. Also present were Brad Wiseman, Erin Smith, Laton Carr, Robin Vietz, and Veronica Chandler from Planning and Development Services Department; Lorie Lankford and Susan Morgan from the Finance Department; and Jeff Whitacre from Kimley-Horn Associates.

C. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

C1. Consider approval of the minutes for the July 18, 2018 Capital Improvement Advisory Committee meeting.

With there being no questions or comments, a motion was offered.

Motion: Motion by Committee Member Sanchez, second by Committee Member Sour to approve Agenda Item C1 as presented.

VOTE: Aye: Chairman Pavliska, Vice Chair Wendt, Committee Member Bryan, Committee Member Clawson, Committee Member Henderson, Committee Member Sanchez, Committee Member Sellers, and Ad Hoc Committee Member Sour. Vote to approve: 8-0. The motion carried unanimously.

D. SEMI-ANNUAL REPORT

D1. Consider a presentation and provide comments regarding proposed land use assumptions and a capital improvement plan for the roadway impact fee study.

Mr. Hudder, Director of Transportation, explained that this was the third and final time that the impact fee study would be presented to the CIAC Committee. He noted that after this meeting, the impact fee study will be presented to City Council. He listed the options that the CIAC Committee could choose from to move forward and make a recommendation to City Council. The choices included: 1) Forward the study to City Council with no fee recommendation; 2) Recommend to City Council to adopt the maximum fee established during the study; or 3) Recommend to City Council to adopt the recommended fee and to approve the Roadway Impact Fee as presented.

Mr. Whitacre briefly explained the purpose and the process of the Roadway Impact Fee noting that the public hearing for the report was scheduled for the City Council meeting on September 13th and the ordinance adoption was scheduled for September 27th.

He briefly reviewed growth, cost, and service units for each service area and explained how impact fees were calculated. He noted that if the ordinance is adopted, vehicle-miles and fees will be made available to the public; the development community will not be required to do any additional calculations. Mr. Whitacre specified that the Roadway Impact Fee is a one-time fee assessed only to new development. The fee is assessed during the Final Plat process and paid at Building Permit.

He continued to briefly discuss the collection rate considerations for the most common land uses and compared the current TIA (Traffic Impact Analysis) collection rate.

Mr. Whitacre finalized his presentation noting that the purpose of the study was to determine the fee needed to pay the cost of vehicle-miles; City Council will determine the impact fee rate. He reviewed the upcoming schedule and discussed the City Council recommendations available to the committee.

Following a discussion, a motion was offered.

MOTION: Motion by Committee Member Clawson, second by Vice Chair Wendt to forward the report to the City Council, to implement impact fees which will appropriately address the needs as defined by the Transportation Department, while keeping the City of Round Rock competitive with neighboring communities for development.

VOTE: Aye: Chairman Pavliska, Vice Chair Wendt, Committee Member Bryan, Committee Member Clawson, Committee Member Henderson, Committee Member Sanchez, Committee Member Sellers, and Ad Hoc Committee Member Sour. Vote to approve: 8-0. The motion carried unanimously.

E. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further discussion, the meeting was adjourned at 9:31 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Veronica Chandler Planning Tech