

Legislation Text

File #: 2017-4905, Version: 1

Consider a presentation recognizing the 2017 Local Legend Award recipients.

The Historic Preservation Commission (HPC) created the Local Legend Award in 1990 and announced the first recipients the following year. The Local Legend Award recognizes individuals, families, businesses, groups, publications or organizations that have had a positive and lasting impact on the culture, development and history of Round Rock. Award recipients are selected based on the following criteria:

- Importance to the City's founding or growth;
- Association with an historic place or event;
- Impact of service to the community's history, development or culture;
- Achievements that have brought honor and distinction to the City of Round Rock.

For the past several years, recipients have been selected by an HPC-appointed citizen committee. This year, the Committee included Kami Barron, Jesus Franco, Jennifer Henderson, Rufus Honeycutt, Dale Ricklefs, Audrey Simmons, and Tina Steiner. The Committee's selections were affirmed by the Historic Preservation Commission at their September 12, 2017 work session. Recipients of the Local Legend Award receive a certificate, are honored by the City Council, and their names are added to a perpetual plaque which includes all previous winners. HPC Chairperson Pamela Anderson will present the awards at the meeting to this year's recipients.